Intermission. The second act is dramatic.

End of Act I: It’s been a busy time. The seaside landlady business has been hectic, tiring, fun and interesting, and the extra income has helped the cottage pay its way. It goes on, thinning out a bit as winter approaches, but steadily enough for us not to worry, and promising to be a fruitful year ahead. Airbnb has had a bad press recently, but for those of us in holiday areas, and not hosting remotely, it has proved productive – no wild parties or pop-up brothels so far! And many very nice people (and, often, their dogs) to meet and welcome.

Back in our rented home, the cats continue to love their life in this rural idyll. Squirrels and pheasants, rabbits and ducks abound, all interesting to look at and perhaps even stalk, but without serious intent. Scooter climbs trees, gets stuck 20 feet up and howls piteously for help until driven down by the lure of rattling dinner dishes.

IMG_6579

The glacial-paced sale of the big house shows no sign of concluding, so we stay where we are, enjoying the peace and privacy, the trees and ponds, the big skies and wide views. We shuttle back and forth frequently to the cottage a few miles away to carry out our hosting duties. In comparison with our life here, the village in which the cottage sits seems busy, noisy and traffic-choked; we know this is not exactly accurate, and that it is still a sleepy place, but here it is unimaginably calm and tranquil.

Behind the iron gates we are just three humans (landlady and us), five cats and one dog, our cars and a drive that is often filled with scatty, easily-alarmed female pheasants, which ensures that our driving is slow and cautious. No one comes here except for friends and deliveries, although there was a hugely successful coffee morning recently, held in partnership with the nearby village to raise funds for Macmillan cancer charity; this brought many visitors, some, I suspect, for a rare chance to see inside the manor as much as to buy coffee and cake, and it raised over £1000.

IMG_6658.jpg

This blog languished in the doldrums again, another slow intermission in our daily non-drama of Nothing Much Happening At All.

And then suddenly things changed, and swept us into another world of activity beyond our control. After a routine appointment in the mobile breast screening unit, my mammogram results showed what were described in the urgent recall letter, “changes”. The day after the letter arrived, to be read with violently shaking hands, I was in the county town’s hospital having scans and biopsies, and being told that same day that what was showing up was almost certainly cancer.

Eight agonising waiting days later, the results confirmed Stage 2 early breast cancer, “very treatable” but requiring surgery. A month later, the first of two surgeries was carried out, the second taking place after another excruciating and painful month. During those first weeks, we struggled with feelings of shock, fear, inability to tell all but a few of our closest family and friends, and coping with our lives running on two simultaneous but hugely different lines: running our Airbnb bookings as normal, being welcoming, chatting and friendly, and dealing with a life-changing diagnosis that rearranged our priorities, our plans and our sense of being grounded, and that brought me to helpless tears innumerable times a day.

It is a well-trodden path, the cancer journey (oh so many cliches!) and familiar to many of us. The death of our friend Suzi last year after a horrifying and aggressive version of this same disease brought additional terror until the final test results came back post-operatively, and showed that I did not have the type of cancer that she had. My version is very common, rather ordinary, in fact, and familiar to many women, and has a clear treatment plan with positive outcomes. But it is cancer, a bomb that has caused our lives to implode, changing everything.

The surgeries are over, the medication is being taken daily, a CT scan is scheduled next week in order to plot the course of radiotherapy, and we know that there is residual cancer to be dealt with and monitored. We are doing all we can to assimilate what has just happened to our lives. I have learned much about myself (not all edifying) and The Gardener (whose capacity to love and support has been deeply inspirational). Each day is different, emotionally volatile, physically taxing, and to be lived with care and attention.

So what to do next, blogwise? I feel I should start a completely new blog, a medium which now seems outdated and losing its original force in favour of Instagram, which I can’t get on with at all because of its impersonal and highly curated nature. I love blogging; I know I don’t do it very much nowadays, but I enjoy writing, and remember very clearly those first months of my first-ever blog, which for a long time had no one to read it. I knew I was probably writing just for myself, and that felt fine too. I could happily do that again.

The dilemma for me is how to write about what has happened, is happening, will happen. Another cancer blog – and there are many, some moving, some informative, some terrifying – is not what I had in mind.

I don’t really know what I have in mind….

But there are days when I just want to float a thought, a question, a feeling, or an observation, out into the ether of blogworld. The question for me is, shall I? Perhaps. Does it have to have meaning for anyone other than myself? Perhaps not. Watch this space.

 

30 thoughts on “Intermission. The second act is dramatic.

  1. Firstly thank you for the ‘so far, so good’ update… and then the breast cancer news! Jeez! While it obviously hasn’t affected me as it has affected you – I do care, however remotely.

    So I for one would like to know how you are out there, with your gardener, cats, dog and observations of the world around you. Please keep talking. Use the space. Rant, roar, whine, moan and hopefully rejoice. Awaiting your words!

  2. Hello from Las Vegas! I am a long time reader from Las Vegas, (transplanted from California) and when I first found you years ago, I spent a lot of time returning to the beginning of your first blogs and reading all
    of the way forward. Also at that time, my last name was York and you still lived in your home before the cottage. We did once briefly have an email exchange about the American pastry called a Hostess “Twinkie” lol!

    Anyway, I wanted to let you know that I’m still here. And every time I get an email notification about a new blog post, I sit down and read it ASAP. In fact, I think of you and your family and pets every now and then when I haven’t seen one in awhile and wonder about you.

    I’m glad to see an update but sad to hear your news. I have 2 friends who have recently completed treatment like you and they are doing fabulously. And I’m sure you will as well. Please take care and rest assured you are never only writing for yourself. There’s a California transplant in Nevada who sees it all. Much love – Alicia (York) Sheppard

    • Hello, Alicia! I do remember the Twinkie exchange! Another old-timer – it’s heartwarming to find oneself not forgotten. I shall write again for sure. All the best to you.

  3. I too, am happy to hear from you, scary news or happy news. And I hope you keep writing, about your life, cats, dog, gardner, son, grandson, with an optional picture of your beautiful surroundings. Wishing you all the best and succes in beating the cancer.
    Desiree

  4. So very sorry. I went down this route 4 years ago. Please let me know if I can help with a bit of moral support. I had surgery and radiotherapy and pills. It’ll all be 5 years next Feb. This is the fellowship one never wants. As Felicity said….Thinking of you and wishing you well. Happy to help any way I can. Jan xxx

  5. And here’s another long time fan heard from. I will always read anything you care to post. As soon as I get the notice, I immediately check your blog. Your writing, about any subject you choose, is always a gift to this reader. Onward!

  6. Love your blog and would read anything 🙂 I’m another breast cancer survivor (4 years and counting). Radiotherapy is the pits! Do ask anything you want….sometimes it is easier to ask other people about this and that. I had such bad reactions to the pills that I had to stop taking them. Took about 6 months to recover from that and of course the risk goes up but I decided life is for living and so far it has been ok.

    • Pre-diagnosis, and so closely involved with my friend’s experience, I have often wondered how I would respond to the often-brutal treatment that has been in use for so many years, and If I could go through with it. In the event, I find I can and I must, but who knows – time and experience can change our minds, as you found. This is one of the issues that I will write about in due course. Meantime, as you say, Vivien, life is for living. So… we live!

  7. My initial delight at seeing another post from you turned to shock on reading it. I was relieved to find you in positive mode and can only imagine how tough it is to remain so on the darker days. My thoughts are with you. Take care of yourself – an allow others to take care of you when you need it.

  8. Rachel, Please keep writing. I have loved your posts since your first posts in the North East and have loved the ups and downs of living with the cats and dogs. You have a wonderful way with words that is very humorous and if this helps you too that is a bonus. You are going to need every bit of positivity over the coming months and writing may help you. Much love and strength is sent to you and the gardener. xx Lynne

  9. Cooee – another old timer waving at you! That was a shock, I can tell you and all I can do is to encourage you to keep writing and let you know that my virtual support is open ended. I do wish you well and hope that your positivity wins the day. My very best wishes to you.

  10. I’m so sorry to hear that life has dealt you this blow… It’s good to know you’re surrounded with love and support (as well as cats and scatty pheasants). Sending you healing vibes.

  11. It’s a madhouse here right now, but while the floor is being washed I thought I’d write that email I promised…and here you are, bringing us all up to date.
    So pleased that the news is, thus far, good.
    And I hope you wiil continue to write, whether about your treatment or the cats’ msichiefs or the weather…A great many people take comfort from the day-to-day events that are never covered by Fleet Street. And that’s a Very Good Thing, given their tendancy to manipulate details!

    So, back to the drafts folder and perhaps tonight I’ll actually press the ‘send’ button!
    Bucketloads of good wishes to you all.xx

  12. Rachel, sending you love & good wishes in this somewhat unwelcome journey you find you have to take now, I hope you continue to get good results. We are all with you & will always be as long as you continue to update us in the style we so enjoy reading, whether that is what the cats are up to or your new ventures. Just write when you feel able & look after yourself.

  13. I just popped in to see if there was an update on the letting/cats/general slow living – I did not expect this news! I am so sorry you are having to go through it. You have many long-term readers, so know that we will all be thinking of you, and ready to read whatever and whenever you feel like writing.

  14. Love reading your blog posts – maybe not this one so much though. Sorry to hear your news and sending lots of good vibes your way. Carry on writing when you feel like it; you have a gift for it, as I’m sure all your readers agree. Wishing you a very speedy recovery.

  15. Yes please more blog posts ! I hear blogs are coming back. I too miss blogging and have been considering beginning again as well perhaps on a new platform (Blogger has too many bugs). So great to read this newsy update, we (les Gang and I) have been worried and wondering how everything is. We’re thrilled to hear the prognosis is good, that you’re enjoying the landlady/country lane life and that the Gardener and the Team are all well. I’m writing you a Christmas card at the moment, then off to the post office. Also currently reading The Salt Path by Raynor Winn and thinking even more about you and life in southern England. Wishing I could twitch my nose (a la Bewitched) and visit for tea. Much love to all xoxo Susan * Oliver sends his deepest love to M. Millie

  16. wow,life can sure take unexpected twists and turns when least expected, i have been reading sine before your move down there so goodness knows how long that is now. take care of yourself,i hope you have a fantastic Christmas

  17. Please go on writing. I don’t think blogging is outdated but lots of – most of – my old bloggy friends have dropped off into Facebook or Instagram. Not the same at all. And all best wishes for the non-nastiest treatment possible and a speedy throwing off of all things cancer. Happy Christmas.

  18. I’m so glad I checked in. I can only imagine your terror at your diagnosis, especially after the life changing experience of caring for your friend. I’m happy to read about anything you write Rachel. Who knows how many of us might encounter the same diagnosis and I trust your accounting of the process will be inspirational to us all, cancer or no.

    We’re all with you. Shelley from Boston

  19. Rachel, I’m so happy to see you blogging again! Slow Life in all its incarnations was always a favorite of mine to read!
    That said, I am sending positive vibes from Colorado, and hope they help a little bit. You will prevail with your altercation with cancer, because you are strong! Many hugs and vibes for me to you!

Leave a comment